A Brief Overview of the Chakras

What are chakras?

The word chakra is a Sanskrit word, which translate into “wheel.” These wheels are essentially categorized into centers of intelligence within the body, each of which govern a set of internal organs, glands of the endocrine system, and correspond to specific functions and human elements. Different points within the body operate through different means and have varying effects on our physical, mental, emotional and energetic bodies. For example, the heart’s electromagnetic pulse extends up to three feet outside our body, and in this way we subtly communicate with one another. Each intelligence center, or chakra, of our body responds to different stimuli, like color, sound, scent, or to the energy of natural items, like that of a stone.

Muladhara Chakra

The Muladhara chakra is often called the root chakra. It is the first chakra in our body which rests at the base of our spine. It is what governs our primal needs and within it lies a dormant reserve of energy to be accessed, called Kundalini energy. The Muladhara chakra dictates our sexual organs and is associated with the color red, and often times can be represented as black or brown.

Svadhisthana Chakra

The Svadhisthana chakra is also called the sacral chakra. It is our second chakra which governs our lower abdomen, spleen, and the female reproductive system. It is considered our emotional center and deals with our relationships with others.

Manipura Chakra

The Manipura chakra, also called the Solar Plexus chakra, is the powerhouse of the body. It resides from the navel to the base of the chest. It is the center that dictates our stomach and liver. The Manipura chakra deals with our energy, willpower, strength, and self-control.

Anahata Chakra

The Anahata chakra is lovingly called the heart chakra and exists at our heart space. It rules over both the heart and the lungs and corresponds primarily with the color green and sometimes with the color pink.

Vishuddha Chakra

The Vishuddha chakra is known as the throat chakra which is where this intelligence center lives. It dictates the throat and ears. The Vishuddha chakra is the bridge to the heart-mind connection and it corresponds with the color blue.

Anja Chakra

The Anja chakra is often called the third eye chakra or the guru chakra. It resides at the level of our forehead and rules over our eyes and nervous system. The third eye gives us insight and allows us to see the unseen. It best responds to indigo, deep blues and cool purples.

Sahasrara Chakra

The Sahasrara chakra is known as the crown chakra and is first and foremost a gateway for inviting energy into the body. The Sahasrara chakra also rules over the nervous system, along with the Anja chakra, and the head. The colors which best correspond to it are violets, purples, and white.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *